Go back to all the winners

Nelson Mandela

Leader of the African National Congress (ANC) until 1997. President of the Republic of South Africa (1994-99).

Jul 18th 1918, Mvezo, Union of South Africa - Dec 5th 2013, Johannesburg, South Africa

Peace Prize 1986

For having dedicated his entire life to the fight against apartheid. His ideals of defense of freedom and Human Rights led him to actively participate in combating slavery and the oppression of his people, a struggle for which he was imprisoned in 1962 and sentenced to life imprisonment in 1964. He was released in 1989.

The award was presented in Sabadell.